About | Blog | Forums | People | Free Newsletter
Trailspace is a product review site for outdoor enthusiasts. Use it to find and share great gear.

Is anyone familiar with backpacking near Las Vegas?

7:53 a.m. on August 19, 2008 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
5 forum posts

I just moved to Las Vegas and I would like to do some overnight backpacking. As i'm new to backpacking, I'm having some trouble finding resources online as far as rules for camping off trails. If anyone is familiar with the surrounding areas, namely Mt. Charleston or Red Rock canyon, please feel free to help me out :)

10:09 p.m. on August 19, 2008 (EDT)
TOP 10 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
2,234 reviewer rep
5,182 forum posts

There are a couple of books on backpacking in Nevada wilderness areas. Unfortunately, since I am in process of moving into temporary quarters to rebuild my house, I don't have the exact names. But they are available in REI (I think there is one in Lust Wages?). The titles are something like Hikes in Nevada Wilderness Areas or Backpacking Nevada.

You are also close to some good areas in NW Arizona and SW Utah, as well as some not far away in California. When winter sets in, look into some of the backpacks in Death Valley (not in summer, though, until you get used to desert hiking). Telescope Peak, on the border of Death Valley NP is ok in summer, sometimes having patches of snow year around.

11:05 p.m. on August 19, 2008 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
5 forum posts

Thanks for the info. The only books i could really find at barnes and nobles were mostly about short 1 - 2 mile hikes. I ended up buying Afoot & Afield: Las Vegas and Southern Nevada. Another was called Backpacking nevada, but not very much about the immediate area. It only had two trails mentioned and the rest were in northen NV.