what degree sleeping bag for WA (not Rainier) for Oct 4-5?

9:51 a.m. on September 27, 2008 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
27 forum posts

Im going to visit a friend in Washington and we're going to be backpacking next weekend. I'm an experienced backpacker in CO and UT, but don't quite know temps to expect in WA. We don't quite know where we are going yet, but I do not think we are going after any summits. Probably a loop hike.

So, not knowing exactly what elevation we're going to be at, what is bag should I bring to handle varying temps?

I have a 35 degree bag, which I figure I can veto. It's colder than that, right? This doesn't seem quite as versatile as I might like, and my Helium just doesn't weight that much more.

I have a 15 degree Marmot Helium.

I have a -20 degree Western Mountaineering Puma. I really just use this in CO winters, and it's an inferno. Easy enough to vent with opening the zipper, tho.

I sleep a little cold, but will be wearing capilene, etc. as insulating layers. I imagine that I'd be fine with the 15 deg. What do you think?

11:52 p.m. on September 28, 2008 (EDT)
TOP 10 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
2,329 reviewer rep
5,298 forum posts

Not knowing where you will be backpacking in Washington State makes it hard to say what sleeping bag would be required. Parts of eastern WA are fairly warm this time of year, parts in the Cascades could get significant snow this early, much of the Cascades, Olympics, coast are likely to get significant cold rain and/or fog. I think, going blind and since you say you sleep "a little cold", I would probably opt for the WM and vent it if it's too warm. That's better than getting there and finding you are under-prepared.