Long haul backpacking in Northern Montana

10:57 a.m. on January 12, 2009 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
3 forum posts

I'm saving up to take a 14 day backpacking trip into the Northern Territory of Montana. Any Advice on gear, equipment, food, to bring along the way would be greatly appreciated. I've only hiked and backpacked the Appalachian Mountains of Ga and Tn. There's a big differance between the two and would like some info on what to be expected on the terrian, wilflife of the area and personal protection. Thanks for your help.

5:44 p.m. on January 12, 2009 (EST)
MODERATOR REVIEW CORPS
998 reviewer rep
3,501 forum posts

Hi AlphaDog, welcome to Trailspace.

I can't help you out with Montana, but It's nice to have another member from the Southeast.
I have been to Villa Rica a few times visiting friends.

2:47 p.m. on January 13, 2009 (EST)
71 reviewer rep
440 forum posts

AlphaDog--

I'm a veteran of several trips to northern Montana--it's one of my favorite places in the world. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do when I'm up there.

Most of my time in the area has been focused on trips into the Bob Marshall Wilderness Area, just south of Glacier Nat. Park. The "Bob" is a fantastic area, with lots of opportunity for wildlife viewing, enjoying the scenery, etc. But it's most definitely wilderness.

Even just getting to the trailhead can be a bit of a job. since I have to fly into the area, I end up either hitching or paying for a ride to the trailhead--not insignificant, since the trip can be up to an hour or more one-way. Making some calls and planning here is important.

Once there, be prepared. There's a reason that's the Boy Scout motto. I've been deep in the Bob in August and ended up slogging through knee-deep snow. Yes, August. And yes, knee-deep. I've also been there when it's 96 degrees. Dealer's choice, I suppose.