Cumberland island camping, what do I need to know???

10:21 a.m. on June 28, 2009 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
8 forum posts

Hey i will be going to there in a few weeks, july 16 to july 19

what do i need to know about cumberland island? i'm staying in stafford camp.

Have anyone fish on that island b4? i'm thinking about go to the beach at night, to catch some crabs, or whatever for dinner (thats extra on top of what we will bring).

what about fire wood?

thanks

1:26 p.m. on June 29, 2009 (EDT)
30 reviewer rep
1,238 forum posts

I've been camping on Cumberland about 60 times since 1988. It's my favorite place in the whole world.

Summer camping on Cumberland is a challenge. Gets pretty hot, no see-ums are bad and at night what sounds like rain coming down from the trees are really ticks (I prefer to go there November thru late March).

Stafford's nice, but they turned it into a family campsite - complete with fire rings and a bathroom. You won't have much quite time there. Take a camping stool. There aren't any decent tree configurations for hammocks and you don't want to sit on the ground with the ticks.

If you want an isolated camping area, go further north to Hickory Hill or Yankee Paradise.

Beach at night is great no matter which campsite you stay at. Your not gonna catch any crabs on the Atlantic side, but you could if you go west to the river. You can also get some really tasty clams. Make sure you bring food and don't rely on catching your dinner.

There are some nice fresh water lakes for fishing. You can get to them by hiking up "Roller Coaster Trail" (North of Duck House Trail).

Be carefull, the lakes do have gators in them.

Being that everyone who stays at Stafford, also looks for firewood, your gonna have to do some work humping it from a distance. Plenty of driftwood on the beach.