where to go by the end of february

3:01 a.m. on January 1, 2010 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
6 forum posts

hi everybody!
we are two romanian guys and we are living right now in chicago.
we want to go for a mountaineering trip for a week or more, by the end of february somewere in the rocky mountains. i have some experience from back home and my partner, the same. we prefer a pretty easy trail like a grade II (2), but if the trail has few spots of grade III(3), that's fine too.
we wanted to go into chicago basin, colorado, but after a month of making plans i found out that the durango-silverton train is riding just from may to october, probably because of the snow. we could walk, but it is a 2 day hike to get in and 2 days to get out of the basin, so we decided to look for another place to go to...
and now we need your help. so please give us some suggestions. the mountain or the peak can be over 9000 feet or 12000 feet or can be a 14er, anyone is fine. or can be more than one, if we have enough time, food and the weather is good.
i also know somebody in boulder, colorado. i was thinking about the "rocky mountains NP". this guy has a suv and a pick-up truck and he could drive us as close as he can into the park, because as i know, in winter the park is closed.
what about the bears? are they hungry by the end of february? in romania the shepherds told me that the february 2nd is the day of the bear. he gets out of his bed. if the day is warm he goes back to sleep because he knows that another wave of cold will come, but if is cold, he stays out and begins to search for food, because he knows the the spring with its sunny days will come. it's like up side down, but this is what they told me. of course that is the carpathian bear, but is realy big and hungry and they are a lot.
i'm waiting for your answers and your help! thanks a lot for your help and patience!!
cristian

5:36 p.m. on January 1, 2010 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
17 forum posts