About | Blog | Forums | People | Free Newsletter
Trailspace is a product review site for outdoor enthusiasts. Use it to find and share great gear.

Smoky Mountain Backcountry Trip Help

6:43 p.m. on March 13, 2010 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
20 forum posts

Hello everyone, new to the site and happy to be here! Wish I had heard about it before!!

I have been backpacking for about 8 years now, and have been to the Smoky Mountains 3 times... each time I have pretty much done the same thing, Forney Creek to Clingmans Dome, and then different ways down.

I am looking for something a bit more different this year. My friend and I leave in about a month so there is plenty of time to take in suggestions and plan our trip!

What we are looking for is a 6 day trip anywhere from 40 - 60 miles. We will be arriving in the Smoky's around April 19th...

We would love to include as many waterfalls as possible, and we love fording through water. Being that it is spring, it would be pretty cool to see blooming flowers and the such. We are not to interested in summits, although getting high with some openings is always welcome (Silers Bald, Derrick Knob were pretty darn cool).

If anyone has any suggestions for trails that includes these ideas I would really really appreciate it!

Thanks,

Jim

6:50 p.m. on March 13, 2010 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
20 forum posts

just realized i should have put this in trip planning!!

Sorry, if a MOD could move it over I would appreciate it!

~Jim

7:45 p.m. on March 14, 2010 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
82 forum posts