Back Country around Illinois

12:34 p.m. on July 21, 2010 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
4 forum posts

First post on this site and was wondering if anyone had any trip ideas around Illinois. I am looking to go Labor weekend for 2-3 days. I am a beginner and don't want to get too crazy but I definitely want to hike in some areas where their will not be alot of other people. I am willing to drive to some close states and I was thinking of looking into some state parks.

1:50 p.m. on July 21, 2010 (EDT)
3 reviewer rep
4 forum posts

Where do you live in IL?

If you live in northern IL, I would recommend either the South or North Kettle Moriane State Forests in WI. You can backpack on the Ice Age Trail in those areas. In Iowa, there is the Yellow River State Forest in the northeast area of the state not far from the Mississippi River.

If you live near the Southern portion of the state, you have Shawnee National Forest near Carbondale, IL or Hoosier National Forest in Indiana. There is a trail in southern Indiana that it supposed to be pretty good called the Knobstone Trail.

7:42 p.m. on July 21, 2010 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
4 forum posts

I live in Mokena. Just southwest of Chicago. I was looking at going to Shawnee National Forest. Looks like pretty interesting scenery with the garden of the gods, little grand canyon and cave in rock. I was looking for some advice on how to go about planning a 3 day backpacking trip. This would be my first overnight trip that wouldn’t involve camping next to my car. I would most likely be going with my friend or even possibly solo over labor day weekend.

Where do I begin? How do I plan my route? The information I have been reading is that you can virtually camp anywhere in the forest (taking into account the leave no trace and only where it is allowed). I guess my question is how do I plan my route and my schedule? I see these trip reports and articles in Backpacker and such and I am wondering how to be that prepared.