About | Blog | Forums | People | Free Newsletter
Trailspace is a product review site for outdoor enthusiasts. Use it to find and share great gear.

Day Hiking near Mesa, AZ

12:40 a.m. on October 30, 2010 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
1 forum posts

I am new to hiking, and new to the area of Mesa, AZ..... Are there any suggestions regarding some good places to hike during the day?   Thank you.

4:24 a.m. on October 30, 2010 (EDT)
200 reviewer rep
3,929 forum posts

Welcome Zink2727,

Sedona is not too far away north on 89 and there are plenty of hiking areas there. Also look into the Superstitions and Camelback Mountain near there. I have never hiked down there but have heard it is very nice.

Contact me at cpatflagaz@yahoo.com and I will give you the name/email of a hiking friend in Phoenix who knows the area well, he may also become a hiking friend down there. I live in Flagstaff, AZ. Put "Dayhiking near Mesa/Trailspace" in the subject line.

Also go to Yahoo groups and search for hiking groups and clubs in the area you live. Many cities have hiking clubs that get together weekends and such to do hikes.

Here you go, I looked for you:

Phoenix_Hiking_Club : Discussion list dedicated to hiking in Phoenix and the state of Arizona

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Phoenix_Hiking_Club/

11:10 p.m. on October 30, 2010 (EDT)
7 reviewer rep
134 forum posts

How far from Mesa are you thinking of venturing?  Within 30m of Mesa are the Phoenix mountain parks (Piestewa Peak, Camelback Peak, South Mountain, Usery Pass) and the Superstition Wilderness.  These alone can keep you busy for days on end.

A bit further out, within a couple hours, are Sedona (as Gary suggests), the Mazatzal Wilderness, and the Santa Catalina's (near Tucson). 

Even further are the San Francisco Peaks (near Flagstaff) and Grand Canyon. 

A good resource is hikearizona.com, also go to REI and pick up one or more Arizona trail guides.

Our beautiful state is full of hiking opportunities.