need some ideas for hikes

9:14 p.m. on April 4, 2011 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
22 forum posts

Im looking for some trip ideas. I live around amarillo, tx, so im wanting to backpack in north, or west texas, new mexico, colorado, areas like that....im pretty new to this area, and back packing as a hobby, so im looking for some good back country trips from 10 to 40 miles.....im new to back packing as a hobby like i said, but after four years in the 82nd airborne, im quite used to long trips with a heavy pack......any ideas? I am new to all this, so i would most likley be by myself on these trips.

9:39 p.m. on April 4, 2011 (EDT)
87 reviewer rep
1,057 forum posts

Hey Texas Trekker

Welcome to trailspace.!!

have you thought of the longtrail down in Houston? The Lonestar trail is about 90 miles..How about Big Bend? I'v done that. But you have to hit it before july..

9:44 p.m. on April 4, 2011 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
155 forum posts

Texas:

No. 1 welcome to Trailspace. I'd like to suggest also introduce yourself in the beginners forum so all the members can welcome you in. I'd also like to know what kind of gear you'd be carrying. I was in the Army myself and you can see some big differences between civilian gear and carrying a ruck.

I was stationed out at Fort Bliss and the best place in the world in West Texas is Big Bend. Be sure to check it out. There's a cool little town there called Alpine where you can spend some time at. Other than that, there's just a whole lot of awesome hiking and adventure in the outdoors.

Some other areas that may not be too big of a drive for you would be to check out the area around Ruidoso, New Mexico. If memory serves right, the highway from Amarillo almost goes straight there. I visited that area several times and also Cloudcroft, New Mexico. Beautiful mountains and if you hit Apache Mountain, it's about 10,000 feet elevation.