Labor Day Trips Near Pittsburgh

9:50 p.m. on August 27, 2011 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
30 forum posts

Hi

Newbie here to Trailspace.  Love the site, I have checked out several threads & everyone is helpful & shares a lot of knowledge.  

I'm looking for a 2-3 day trip somewhere within a 4 hr or so driving from Pittsburgh, that won't be too crowded over labor day weekend.  I'll probably take my 9 yr old daughter, so daily mileage under 10 is good.  

Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance!

10:09 p.m. on August 27, 2011 (EDT)
1,631 reviewer rep
3,962 forum posts

Hey Doug, welcome to Trailspace.

My first thought would be Ohiopyle but due to the holiday I would think it would be pretty crowded. I really like the LHHT(Laurel Highlands Hiking Trail) NOBO or SOBO. I just did the whole thing again. Its a 70 mile trip(80 because of a turnpike detour.) There are 8 shelters areas on the trail/5 shelters at each site. Plus there is extra room for about 30 tents. You don't necessarily have to start at the trail heads. You could always start at any shelter and hike either way. The reason I am leaning to starting out mid trail is the roughest elevation gains are at the trailheads which may not be fun for a 9yr old . Ohiopyle(NOBO) is the worst. But once ya get 20 or so miles in it levels off. Granted there are a few "hills" but nothing like the ones at the trailheads.

Its about 1.5 hr drive give or take from Pittsburgh

Are you looking for a weekend get away, a backpacking trip, etc?

Here is a link for the trip report I did from my last trip there in June:

http://www.trailspace.com/forums/trip-reports/topics/92698.html#92698

10:07 a.m. on August 28, 2011 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
30 forum posts

Rick,