Hi I'm New (And I have pics of my latest adventure)

5:31 p.m. on June 14, 2007 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
14 forum posts

Hi
I have been checking out gear reviews on Trailspace for a few months now and figured I'd join the forum.
My name is Eric, I'm 30 and live in Pittsburgh, PA. I like to go on backpacking adventures any time I have a few days off. My most recent trip (Just got back a few hours ago) was to the Otter Creek Wilderness in the Monongahela National Forest WV. There is a like to the pics below. The quality of the pictures isn't the best, I really need a better camera and a few photography leasons.

http://flickr.com/photos/18931025@N00/sets/72157600358232619/

8:03 p.m. on June 14, 2007 (EDT)
TOP 10 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
2,329 reviewer rep
5,298 forum posts

Eric -
For someone who says, "I really need a better camera and a few photography lessons", you sure have a good eye and a lot of good photos. Two things I would suggest are a light tripod or monopod to steady the camera for those low light-level shots (for backpacking, I like the Leki photo/hiking pole), and more use of available light and less of the flash (the tripod or monopod would help here). I think you are doing just fine with the camera you have.

You can learn a lot about taking photos by just looking at lots of them. There are a number of excellent outdoor photographers these days to use as examples, which I know you can get in the Pittsburgh area. Outdoor Photographer magazine has lots of good examples, though they tend to spend a lot of time on using Photoshop. Instead of reading all the details of how they processed the image on their computer, look at how the photos are composed and try to imitate them. You will soon develop your own style incorporating things you pick up by looking at lots of good examples.