derjoser

0 reviewer rep
12 forum posts
joined Apr 25, 2011

Full Name: private
58-year-old woman
Rome, GA
Occupation: historian
Email: private

Gear Reviews

derjoser hasn't written any gear reviews.

Forum Posts (12)

Re: Survival Kit May 25, 2011
Re: Advice needed from the ladies May 25, 2011
Re: Choosing Your Canoe: Materials May 25, 2011
Re: Alico New Guide Heel Problem May 25, 2011
Re: Alico New Guide Heel Problem May 22, 2011

About

I started playing outside back in the mid-1970s. To support my outdoor habit and my gear addiction, I managed a high-end outfitters until I went back to college. Even then, I worked p/t through grad school and while teaching college.

I did a lot of canoeing, backpacking, and winter sports. I was only a so-so climber (course that could have been because I was climbing in EB's ;-)). I did several trips at altitude until I figured the odds were turning against me.

I live in the foothills of the Smokies and have a small farm.

In 2006, I was the pedestrian the fool who thought the sidewalk was the road decided to hit. It wasn't until Oct of 2010 that my hand surgeon finished on my dominant hand and wrist: I got an experimental partial ulna, total wrist joint replacement. Now we get to fix my other arm. Oh, joy.

I'm looking to stay as connected as I can to my old life but also have had to accept that there is much I can no longer do. That means I'm looking for good homes for some of my gear.

I've been certified to fit just about anything that needs fitting and have over 30 years experience doing so. And 30 years of opinions...

Activities

Hiking
Backpacking
Snowshoeing
Backcountry skiing
Mountaineering
Canoeing
Kayaking
Horse riding
making knives
mucking stables

Vitals

Height5'6"
Weight134
Torso Lengthmed
Boot/Shoe Size8.5B - 9B
Jacket/Shirt Size14
Pant Size34x30