GaryPalmer

200 reviewer rep
4,119 forum posts
joined Oct 12, 2008

Full Name: private
58-year-old male backpacker
Jackson, WY
Occupation: Semi-retired
Email: private

About

I am a 58 year old, veteran of hiking, camping, traveling, bicycle touring and photography. I have been all over the USA since my first solo trip in 1977 at age 21. Before that I was a Boy Scout and grew up in the country playing in the woods and camping in them with friends. I never grew tired of being outdoors.

I hitchhiked 10,000 miles in the summer of 1977, ending up after going around the lower 48 states, in Alaska where I lived, working winters and hiking summers for 2 1/4 years. After returning to my parents home in Arkansas I started traveling extensively for 1 1/2 years and stayed to working just a few months a year (summers) and taking to the road by bike and the trails by foot the 6-9 months of the year I am unemployed by choice.

I have never owned a house, car (don't even know how to drive) or had any major bills. I spend way to much living in towns when I stop to work summers compared to what I live on 6-9 months a year at around $200-$300 a month, more for cycling than hiking. I bike tour about 5000 miles a year and hike about 2500 miles year on trails and routes thru the woods.  More than often I follow game trails and river beds and only do tourist trails when I don't know my way around or just want to see the sights in parks.

I am currently in Jackson WY my summer home 30 out of the last 34 years. I work here during the height of the Tourist season to save up to go hiking and cycling in the southwestern USA.

If you are planning a trip to NW Wyoming this April-October contact me as I have been all over this country and know many great places to hike,camp and see wildlife.

Activities

Hiking
Backpacking
Snowshoeing
Orienteering
Backcountry skiing
Mountaineering
Canyoneering
Geocacheing
Canoeing
Mountain biking
Fishing
Photographer
bicycle tourer
desert rat/hiker
5.10 canyoneer
Adventure traveler
Bacakpacker
Etc
Etc
Etc

Vitals

Height6' 7"
Weight205 lbs
Boot/Shoe Size13-14
Jacket/Shirt SizeMedium-large
Pant Size34x36 inches