Kinetic Mobile Phone Charger – University Design Student Project

7:22 a.m. on October 26, 2015 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
3 forum posts

Hello Outdoorists and Adventurers alike,

From the title you may have some idea what this forum topic is about. Read on to find out more.

Firstly here is a brief introduction to who I am the goals that I have. I am a student at Brunel University London (brunel .ac.uk) studying BSc Product Design Engineering (see recent Brunel Design Projects here - madeinbrunel .com) and am in my final year. As part of the course there is a Major Project module that allows me the freedom to research and study a design opportunity and then develop appropriate solutions for it.

A potential gap in the market that I have noticed is for a mobile phone battery charger that can be charged up with kinetic energy. I am posting on this forum to find out whether or not the lack of this product truly is a “pain point” amongst outdoor enthusiasts, hikers, campers, etc. I would appreciate your feedback and thoughts on this.