Two Person Backpacking Tent

1:18 a.m. on November 3, 2015 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
2 forum posts

I'm just getting started in the world of backpacking and I've been looking at picking up a two person tent. So far I've narrowed it down to the Eureka Apex 2XT or the Kelty Salida 2. The Apex 2XT I can get for about $108 plus tax at my local sporting goods store, as for the Salida 2, Massdrop has it for about $105 estimated shipping and tax. So as for the price I'm considering them equal, my main comparison is between the tent's area and its weight. The Apex has about 36 sq ft of sleeping room and 28 sq ft of vestibules but weights 6 lbs and 5 oz. The Salida is on the lighter end at 4 lb 9 oz but a much smaller 30.5 sq ft of sleeping area, and just over a third of storage at 10 sq ft. Most likely I will be sharing the tent with someone else but there is the chance I might use it as a solo tent and I'm in no position to buy two different tents to meet both requirements, so is the extra room worth the weight? And are there just better aspects of one than the other, such as better material or extra accessories? And lastly I am open to other options, but I would like to keep it around the same price as these, about $120 is my limit as I still have other gear to purchase (sleeping bag, stove, etc...). Also open to other gear recommendations since I don't really have anything yet.

5:48 a.m. on November 3, 2015 (EST)
TOP 25 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
3,569 reviewer rep
1,335 forum posts

For that price you have limited options on new tents. You might want to look at sites like Geartrade for used tents...You can sometimes get a really good deal on a lightly used tent of much better quality or lighter weight.

2:33 p.m. on November 3, 2015 (EST)
TOP 10 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
6,684 reviewer rep
2,183 forum posts