Amateur Backpacker

3:52 p.m. on May 2, 2006 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
20 forum posts

Hi everyone. Just wanted to introduce myself. Although I am new to backpacking, I have been hiking, camping, fishing, and bow hunting most of my life. Last year, my wife and I did an overnight backpacking trip, and I instantly loved it (way to heavy pack and all). Since then, I have been busy researching and buying lighter gear. Most of our trips will be in the Mid-Atlantic States, mostly in National Forest backcountry and wilderness areas, just myself, my wife, and our golden retriever. We plan on practicing LNT, 3 season, and most of our trips will be 1 or 2 nighters. So far, I have purchased the following gear:

Eureka Tetragon 7 (3person/3season)tent w/floor saver, Therm-a-Rest Trail Lite Sleeping Pads w/stuff sacks, Slumberjack Talon +40 Sleeping bags (for colder weather, we have heavier mummy bags by Coleman), Snowpeak Gigapower Stove, Katadyn Hiker Microfilter, Granite Gear Dry Sacks, Montrail Torre GTX boots, Bridgedale Light Hiker Socks.

I have an older Kelty External frame pack that my wife bought for me at a yard sale 5 years ago. Not sure what the model is, but it seems large enough, with 2 large compartments and several smaller pockets on each side. A new pack will be my next major purchase. Any ideas or suggestions would be appreciated.

My pack weight without food,water,extra clothing (including the 10 essentials, 1/2 the tent weight, most of the heavier gear) is around 21.5lb. My wifes pack weight is about 14.5lb. Does this seem about right?

Anyhow, just wanted to introduce myself. Any ideas that you can give a backpacking newbie would be great. Thanks

6:59 p.m. on May 2, 2006 (EDT)
(Guest)

I'm guessing that the difference between your & your wife's base weights is mostly tent. The tent you're carrying is over 6.5 pounds.