Water treatment...to purify or to filter?

7:10 p.m. on April 5, 2014 (EDT)
2,900 reviewer rep
256 forum posts

These forums have been a big help with giving me answers to questions that you can't necessarily get from a label or (direct/honest) from a store associate.  

The question I want to post for this forum is "how do you treat potential drinking water while on the trail?"

Not only do I want to have this thread to help other people as several forums have helped me, but as a relative newbie, I'd like to know too!

I think some key things to mention would be:

-Which method you prefer? Tablets, filter, UV purifier, other?

-When do you use this method, any specific type of trip? 2 night trip, 3-4, longer?  Different treatments for different lengths of time?

-Why do you use this treatment method?  Lighweight, durable over time, easy, consistent, inexpensive, quick to treat?

-Are there any tricks of the trade you'd like to share, either with treating or even collecting water? A great example would be using a tent pole repair sleeve like Patman which he mentioned here

There obviously isn't one right way, I'd just like to see the circumstances when folks use a method, and try to see which best fits my (and anyone reading) needs.

Thanks!

8:00 p.m. on April 5, 2014 (EDT)
12 reviewer rep
848 forum posts

I use my trusty old PUR hiker. I'm never out for more than three days, so I have never used any other method, other than boiling. of course there's nothing you can do about chemical contamination, outside of reverse osmosis... most backcountry water sources in the national parks are pretty safe aside from giardia and crypto, so filtering is good enough.

8:10 p.m. on April 5, 2014 (EDT)
273 reviewer rep
1,948 forum posts
8:52 p.m. on April 5, 2014 (EDT)
REVIEW CORPS
2,780 reviewer rep
1,638 forum posts