Assessment of existing gear for newbie

9:29 p.m. on August 14, 2014 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
7 forum posts

Hi all,

I'm VERY new to backpacking camping - well camping in general but I'm planning on doing more through meetup groups.   I want to make sure the stuff I currently have is sufficient.  At this point I'm not worried about cooking equipment such as stoves, etc. because I would be going with a group of people  so I would just pitch in some money and use theirs for the time being.

Backpack

I own a expedition backpack rather hiking backpack - the main difference is not having the hoops for a tent/sleeping bag - rather the bag I own can be converted into a duffle bag.  I'am able to configure the pack so I can carry a tent, yoga mat (for sleeping pad), tent, clothes and food.  I also have a rain cover it.

I can't find that exact one i have but this one is pretty close: MEC SUPERCONTINENT 75 TRAVEL PACK

Sleeping Bag

This is the one I have:  MEC AQUILINA SLEEPING BAG -7C (WOMEN'S)I also have a sleeping liner.

Tent

Eureka Spitfire 2 Tent: 2-Person 3-Season plus footprint

Sleeping Pad

I don't have one - I was thinking of using a yoga mat for now - any advice on this would be appreciated particular in the thickness.

8:11 a.m. on August 15, 2014 (EDT)
TOP 10 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
7,931 reviewer rep
1,430 forum posts

Function is of course important but weight is a primary concern when you are the one who has to carry everything you'll need. The MEC pack you listed weighs about 6.5 pounds.  It will work for you, but at the expense of a few pounds.  If your pack looks like the one you mentioned be careful to keep the loaded weight close to your spine and not in that pouch hanging off the back of the pack.

Your sleeping bag looks pretty good at a tad over 2 pounds which is not bad at all for a 20°f/-7°c  and should keep your plenty warm on casual three season trips.