Exercise to get fit?

9:50 a.m. on January 26, 2015 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
71 forum posts

What exercise do you guys do to get fit for mountaineering? I don't need to become a pro athlete. 

9:59 a.m. on January 26, 2015 (EST)
244 reviewer rep
5,429 forum posts

I bicycle everyday, keeps my legs and back strong. I ride just 10 miles a day. Been cycling everyday since I was 12 years old. I also bicycle tour, riding 1000s of miles per year to get from my winter home to my summer home and back again.

10:38 a.m. on January 26, 2015 (EST)
TOP 25 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
7,173 reviewer rep
1,701 forum posts

I lost 50# last year then climbed Mt Hood and Rainier.  I'm not a pro nutritionist or anything and lots of people told me I'd die of malnutrition if I did this but here is what I did:

I ate about 1,200 to 1,300 calories daily, mostly vegetables and protein.  I did eat some carbs, just not many.

I drank ONE Guinness or another Stout beer every night with dinner. 

I ran a four mile stretch of trail (not a treadmill) three times per week.

I climbed the stairs of a 300' building twice a week.

On weekends I hiked with a 20# pack up hill gaining about 3,000 feet and going 3-4 miles or so. 

When I put on my pack to climb Rainier and stepped on the scale I weighed what I did the previous winter without anything on. 

I started all this in February and climbed in June and August. 

Before
20131103_145646.jpg

After
IMG_20140927_084040244_HDR.jpg

Thats my two cents.  The mountain doesn't care how much you bench or how many pull-ups you can do.  You need legs and lungs.  Good luck!

12:02 p.m. on January 26, 2015 (EST)
TOP 10 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
7,680 reviewer rep
2,335 forum posts

I cross-train so I work different muscle groups.  I'm a lawyer, not a professional climber or athlete.