tarps and hammocks and DIYing.

5:17 p.m. on October 1, 2015 (EDT)
32 reviewer rep
2 forum posts

I just read an awesome thread, so old that it was closed:

https://www.trailspace.com/forums/beginners/topics/120382.html

In 2015 it's hilarious to see would-be Wise Men badmouthing techniques that today seem so mainstream, commonplacem, and common-sensical! 

I've been hiking and camping in my own way since the early 1970's. Today we have respectable names for what I was doing: Hammock Camping, Ultralight Hiking. But all along the way there were technical issues that caused many to doubt my sanity. It's encouraging to know that if you stick to your principles long enough to what you know to be right and good (and if you don't die in the process) then you will eventually be vindicated in time. Lauded. Heroic!

So, be careful out there, kids. But fly your Freak Flag. Because those of you that try something new are the ones who are going to invent the next forms of industry on behalf of the rest of us "Nattering Nabobs of Negativism".

Rock on!

5:31 p.m. on October 1, 2015 (EDT)
1,753 reviewer rep
3,956 forum posts

Good to have you on Trailspace Steve!

I've been hammocking since the early 80's on & off.

I started with a gathered end bedsheet, and soon got a cheap GI hammock from the Army Surplus Store. It was absolute crap like most Army Surplus gear I've bought.

I now use custom made Silnylon Hammocks, much nicer.

12:20 a.m. on October 2, 2015 (EDT)
73 reviewer rep
3,974 forum posts

I started with tarp tents and lean-tos in 1961. Now I am confused by modern materials.

I miss Lodgepole in the thread above. What ever happened to the guy?

I bought a new tipi this summer from my brother and it will be going up soon for the fall doins.

4:02 p.m. on October 2, 2015 (EDT)
REVIEW CORPS
1,994 reviewer rep
475 forum posts

I used tarps exclusively for my spring/summer/fall outings this year.