New to backpacking: need recommendations for gear!

11:27 p.m. on March 7, 2016 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
8 forum posts

Hello, 

As the title of this thread states, I am new to backpacking and am in need of advice and recommendations for gear! Right now I want to purchase a backpack, a sleeping bag, and a two-person tent. I am not ready to start going on long treks at this time, but I want to get gear that will serve me well whenever I am ready to do so. 

I work at a bike shops and get killer discounts on Thule and Kelty brand gear, so I would like to know whether or not either of these brands have anything that is good enough quality to meet my needs for full-fledged backpacking excursions. 

Backpack:

I basically want something that will have enough space for extended backpacking trips, is compartmentalized, is weather-proof, and (ideally, but not necessarily) can be converted into a smaller size for shorter trips. How much space will I need? 

Sleeping bag:

I want something that will keep me warm in below freezing temperatures, is lightweight, and moisture proof. 

Tent: I want a two-person tent that is waterproof and has plenty of ventilation.. I think a three-season tent would best meet my needs.

What other things would be good for me to consider when looking for gear? 

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated...thanks!

3:17 a.m. on March 8, 2016 (EST)
158 reviewer rep
391 forum posts