Tips for inclement weather?

5:03 p.m. on September 26, 2016 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
8 forum posts

Hi all,

I'm new to camping and I'm going with a friend to Padre Island during hurricane season. I have invested a lot of money into a 4-season tent because I wanted something heavy duty to withstand higher wind speeds and errant debris. Essentially, I'll be hurricane camping if at all possible and I wanted to get tips from people here who have tried that before.

I'm looking for recommendations on stakes, tie-downs, etc. Basically any essentials I might need to make it through anything up to a category 5. I can post more about my existing gear if that helps. Thanks all.

-Bob

8:37 p.m. on September 26, 2016 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
14 forum posts

I have some friends who lived in Florida that camped on the beach through hurricane Andrew. They actually lashed styrofoam blocks around their tent poles and floated out the storm surge by setting a danforth anchor they had chained to the tent. My buddy said it was like sleeping on a waterbed and not a drop of moisture got inside the tent. They had their surfboareds in the tent with them and once the eye passed over they hopped in the water and caught some of those big fat eye wall barrells. The key is getting a solid four season and then outfitting it to float. Those tents are made to withstand Mount Everest which has the harshest wind on earth. The tough part really is getting your buoyancy just right and then making sure you don't get blown out to sea. A good anchor set into the sand and a SOLID four season should technically take you through anything the beach can throw at you just don't do something dumb like pitch under a power line or anything and you'll be fine. Hope you get a big one seasons nearly over. Take pics! 

8:44 p.m. on September 26, 2016 (EDT)
1,977 reviewer rep
362 forum posts