Sore ankles from boots when hiking down hill

4:33 p.m. on January 5, 2017 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
1 forum posts

Hi, 

Im new to hiking and took my new boots out for a hike, they were great up hill but on the descent the back of my boots kept biting into the back of my legs above my ankles. Any lacing techniques to prevent this? The area is bruised still a week later. 

9:44 a.m. on January 7, 2017 (EST)
82 reviewer rep
468 forum posts

Do your socks come up above the tops of your boots?  They should and that would help.  When I wore high top boots, I finally tied them off tightly just above the ankle and left the upper portion relatively loose.

High tops make good sense if you are fire fighting or working construction, but if you are hiking, lower shoes are just as good or possibly even much better.  I can't cite the studies, but i understand that high tops don't provide better ankle support.  That has certainly been my experience.

10:21 a.m. on January 7, 2017 (EST)
148 reviewer rep
118 forum posts

No idea Alexia. If they are a heavier style of boot they may just need a break in period. If you post what brand and model they are someone might have an idea that will help.

8:32 p.m. on January 7, 2017 (EST)
TOP 10 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
6,906 reviewer rep
2,256 forum posts

I'm guessing the key phrase is 'new boots.'  to the extent lacing boots has an impact, you generally want the laces tighter from the middle up to the ankle on downhills, the goal being to avoid your toes bumping against the front of the boot.  that necessarily pulls the collar of the boot tighter against your leg.  if boot is reasonably stiff b/c it's new, the upper edge of the collar will tend to angle into the back of your leg on downhills.