How Important is quality clothing?

10:27 a.m. on July 7, 2017 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
5 forum posts

Hey guys, I'm pretty new to backcountry backpacking (went on my first trip in June).  I don't have any real athletic wear clothing and was wondering if it's worth buying some quality clothing or any old clothing with certain materials?  I know enough to stay away from cotton and that polyester and nylon are good materials and merino wool.  I will be using the clothing for shoulder seasons and summer in the great Canadian wilderness. Also, I don't have a lot of money.  I was looking at Columbia brand clothing because it seems to be on the cheaper side of quality, but I'd like some opinions.  Thanks.

11:17 a.m. on July 7, 2017 (EDT)
TOP 10 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
7,883 reviewer rep
1,416 forum posts

There are some reasons to invest in better stuff such as durability and better performance, but there is no reason you can't do things on the cheap so long as you are smart about it. Sounds like you already understand the basic idea of what to look for; stuff that will dry quickly.

After that is just a matter of building layers appropriate for the weather including enough for conditions a tad worse than you expect if you are the "just in case" sort of person. I combine expensive wool layers with cheap synthetics purchased at Target or Goodwill. Whatever works is what works is how I see it.

So long as you are being safe I think it is better to get out there with crappy equipment than to sit on the couch at home. Cheaping out on stuff that will get you killed on the other hand is not a game I like to play.

Edit:

Oh and welcome to Trailspace :)

11:25 a.m. on July 7, 2017 (EDT)
1,967 reviewer rep
352 forum posts

Columbia is a fine brand, it's gotten a little commercial but they still make plenty of good gear that checks off technical spec needs.