Introduction/Making time for the backcountry

8:31 p.m. on July 9, 2017 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
2 forum posts

I am new here and this is one of my first posts.  I grew up and currently reside in central Illinois.  I discovered my love for sleeping under the stars when I was in the Marine Corps for 5 years.  Afterwards, I spent my time getting a degree and when I found time, checking out the local state parks and nature preserves in my area.  After I graduated I was fortunate enough to take a trip to the South Dakota and Colorado.  Both states had immense beauty and Colorado's back country was something I'll never forget.  Those trips caused me to enroll in an Outdoor Recreation program in southern Illinois.  I did a semester in the program had many great experiences hiking in the back country of southern Illinois.  As life would have it, I decided to stop the program and found a job being a wind technician back up in central Illinois.   

With all that being said, I haven't had a trip to the back country in a long time and it has been calling my name.  Central Illinois doesn't offer much in terms of overnight hiking experiences.  I am curious if anyone else has advice on balancing life and the need to satisfy that adventurous side.  I feel like I would have to take vacation days to get to some of the areas I'd like to explore out west.  I am not opposed to moving and plan to someday, hopefully somewhere west.  I'm hoping a few people have some advice if they live in similar areas.   

I look forwarded to participating quite a bit on this forum.  

9:45 p.m. on July 9, 2017 (EDT)
TOP 25 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
3,802 reviewer rep
1,438 forum posts

Welcome to Trailspace Dminer. I am sure some folks closer to your area will have better advice that I can give. The balance of life's commitments and the opportunity to get to the backcountry is something we all struggle with in different times of life at different scales.