keeping legs, feet dry

12:25 p.m. on August 5, 2018 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
19 forum posts

i'm not really a beginner, but this feels like a beginner question...

i've been hiking/backpacking in the pacific nw for years and yet only this summer have run into the problem of getting my pants and then subsequently my boots soaking wet from brushing against wet foliage trailside. 

i've always thought of gaiters as snow season gear, but would they work in eliminating some of this moisture?

not sure how i had the luck of not having this problem sooner...thanks for your patience with such a question.

1:39 p.m. on August 5, 2018 (EDT)
7 reviewer rep
149 forum posts

Perhaps just "give in" to hiking with wet feet.  I moved a few years ago from the SW to the NE and finally accepted that I will be hiking with wet feet.  So abandoned gtx and hike/backpack in mess trail runners where the water can drain.  I let my feet air 1-2 times on long hiking days and always have dry socks to wear at night (and plastic bags to slip my feet into should I need my hiking shoes while in camp).  

Took several trips to get my head around wet feet but nothing I tried, including gaitors and waterproof shoes worked.  And come to find out my worries of blisters and other foots malady's were just that.  As long as I can air and dry my feet at night, wet feet work as well as dry feet and I don't spend half my hiking time worrying about where to step, how to avoid damp vegetation, etc...in short, wet feet increased by NE hiking enjoyment.

2:48 p.m. on August 5, 2018 (EDT)
125 reviewer rep
3,104 forum posts

Like most any water barrier, gaiters will keep rain, dew and snow off what's inside them, but they will also greatly restrict air circulation that permits sweat to evaporate.  So pick your poison.

3:22 p.m. on August 5, 2018 (EDT)
983 reviewer rep
333 forum posts