Tent advice

11:10 a.m. on April 26, 2019 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
1 forum posts

Fist a little about me, I am a complete novice when it comes to camping, I have never spent a night in a tent, so I am clueless.  During June I cook at a camp for 11-13 year old kids.  There is a cooks cabin however it is reserved for the female kitchen staff.  We men either sleep in the boys cabins with campers or bring camp trailers.  I am not ready to buy a camper yet and do not relish the thought of sleeping in the cabins with the boys again.  They are good kids, but they are kids, they stay up late, I get up early.

Anyway I am looking for an easy to setup cabin style tent with room for a full size air mattress and my gear, that is well ventilated and able to withstand a South Carolina Thunderstorm, and easy to stow in the trunk of my car or backseat.   I will be living in it for a week at a time.

Thanx for any advice.

3:29 p.m. on April 26, 2019 (EDT)
2,017 reviewer rep
387 forum posts

For those needs you should stay away from "backpacking" tents and look to tents made for car camping. Backpacking tents are designed to be small and light, you are going to want some living space and headroom, and it sounds like overall weight won't be an issue for you. There are many, many choices, I suggest going to an REI or other outdoor store and looking at tents, bend a salesperson's ear to give you input.

6:57 p.m. on April 26, 2019 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
673 forum posts

JR is correct.  We've had very good luck with Kelty and Eureka car camping g tents.  Try to avoid really cheap tents, as they leak in the rain....

And learn the tricks to picking out the best way to pit your tent...out of drainage areas, staked out tightly, covering the groundcloth completely, and with a small trench to re-direct and water on the ground...

10:29 p.m. on April 26, 2019 (EDT)
TOP 10 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
5,120 reviewer rep
1,060 forum posts