Hammock Camping?

5:47 a.m. on May 31, 2019 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
3 forum posts

i am a newbie. was wondering if people have tried camping hammocks rather than tents? i just read a blogger's explanation and i feel like trying a full hammock camping rather than sleeping in tents.

any one with experience?

6:26 a.m. on May 31, 2019 (EDT)
107 reviewer rep
521 forum posts

Jessica Ann Lee said:

i am a newbie too. was wondering if people have tried camping hammocks rather than tents? i just read a blogger's explanation and i feel like trying a full hammock camping rather than sleeping in tents.

any one with experience?

Jéssica 

depending on where you hike , yes there are quite a few advantages that hammocks offer. Sleeping is great if your back allows, since you won’t be completely flat. Other advantages are you always have a recliner and a tarp over you for rain and sun block. And during summer you get a breeze under your back also. So yes many nice features come with them. But I would suggest you try one in your back yard 1st.

on a side note and this applys no matter how you camp always look for dead limbs above and trees that are large enough. 

1:47 a.m. on June 2, 2019 (EDT)
73 reviewer rep
3,974 forum posts

Some people really like them.

My back cannot take a nap in a hammock, much less sleeping all night. 

A lot of places there are no trees.  You can't move around.  Where is my dog going to sleep?  Where is my girl going to sleep?

3:16 p.m. on June 4, 2019 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
2 forum posts

personally speaking, Hammock is more suitable for short time sleeping! I prefer the tent!

4:20 p.m. on June 4, 2019 (EDT)
TOP 10 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
8,752 reviewer rep
1,478 forum posts

ppine is right, some folks like them, some don't. You have to try to find out which you are.

We set up three last weekend on a family outing and all slept well. Frau Stranger said it was the best night's sleep she's had in months despite windy squalls passing through all night.