Is there any way to remove the waterproof coating when the tent becomes sticky?

10:22 p.m. on June 12, 2014 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
1 forum posts

I have a north face v 25 tent. the tent floor and sidewalls recently became sticky (I know why this happens and if you're only here to give me a lecture about proper care please don't waste your time or mine. My family's basement flooded while I was away at school last fall and none of them really know anything about tents, so they didn't think to air it out). I also know that most people generally accept this as a death warrant, which i refuse to accept. The rest of the tent works perfectly fine, including the fly (I stored it separately). I'm also a pretty poor student at the moment, so a new tent is not really an option and I don't just want to quit going on camping trips. I was wondering if there is any way to remove the coating entirely without doing even more damage to the floor, and if using a footprint alone would protect the floor from getting wet from snow and/or rain. If anyone has any other solutions other than buying a completely new tent, I would be very grateful. Thanks in advance!

6:53 a.m. on June 13, 2014 (EDT)
TOP 10 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
8,809 reviewer rep
1,490 forum posts

I've heard of folks having varying results resolving sticky tent issues by first washing and drying the tent and then applying a new coating of waterproofing.  Gentle machine cycle with Woolite or other gentle soap, air dry only.

TNF may be able to advise on both cleaning and waterproofing techniques and products specifically related to their materials so I'd start by asking them.  Sounds like you don't have much to lose so worth giving it a shot to try to salvage it.  Good luck and let us know what you try and how it goes.

12:31 p.m. on June 13, 2014 (EDT)
244 reviewer rep
5,400 forum posts

Use a mixture of 50% vinegar/50% water and rinse the whole tent fly in the solution, then air dry in the shade.