Washing down sleeping bag when hiking

6:40 a.m. on September 18, 2016 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
5 forum posts

Hello everyone,

I have a Marmot Never Summer sleeping bag and I have been using it fairly heavily for several months, in the Himalayas. Down-specific cleaners like Nikwax are not available here. Also, in remote regions, stuff like non-detergent soap are not available. Is there any alternative that can be used to wash the bag ? Will washing it with just water be any good ?

Sujith

7:57 a.m. on September 18, 2016 (EDT)
1,977 reviewer rep
361 forum posts

Can you order down cleaner or pure soap online and have it shipped? If not, washing with just water is better than nothing, assuming it's clean water.

10:18 a.m. on September 18, 2016 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
648 forum posts

Woolite or Ivory Flakes if available. On the other hand washing with what ever can be found won't kill the bag. People wash down comforters all the time in their favorite detergent and they come out nice and puffy. Consistent washing with detergent is not ideal. Some (most) shampoo's are non-detergent and will do in a pinch.

10:36 a.m. on September 18, 2016 (EDT)
73 reviewer rep
3,724 forum posts

Plain water is not going to help much. Use whatever soap you can find.  Woolite and Ivory Flakes are the old standbys before Nixwax.

11:04 p.m. on September 18, 2016 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
5 forum posts

JRinGeorgia said:

Can you order down cleaner or pure soap online and have it shipped? If not, washing with just water is better than nothing, assuming it's clean water.

It's available on Amazon India, but it is shipped directly from the United States and it takes a few weeks to arrive. By that time, all the high passes will be covered in snow. :-)

11:05 p.m. on September 18, 2016 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
5 forum posts

Thanks for the replies, I'll find some mild shampoo and try it.

11:42 p.m. on September 18, 2016 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
648 forum posts