H2O filtration in the 21st century?

5:22 p.m. on January 19, 2014 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
110 forum posts

howdy all.

per the subject line, what's the going rig these days?

(per 10 years ago I was using a lethal combo of god's goodwill & bleach;

heavy emphasis on the former and I got lucky, but then again, young & foolish,

need I say more)?

now older & wiser...

I'm planning a LT hike for summer...

what to tote?

(I'm a student-- i.e. budget to some degree, yes, it counts).

many thanks! :)

10:57 p.m. on January 19, 2014 (EST)
2,780 reviewer rep
1,638 forum posts

Hard to pass up the sawyer squeeze or sawyer mini. IMO its the best on the market currently and the price is darn good too. Very easy to use, reliable, durable, and easy to clean/backflush.

12:53 a.m. on January 20, 2014 (EST)
REVIEW CORPS
1,747 reviewer rep
743 forum posts

I just got the Sawyer Mini...at approx. $20.00 and 2oz. (dry) it is hard to beat and stupid-simple to use (you can be illiterate and use it properly)...since I've only had my Mini a couple of weeks I cannot personally testify to its performance...but I have heard nothing but good things about it from others...and I have used the larger Sawyer Point-Zero-Two filter for a couple of years now and I absolutely love it...I have high expectations!