Double vs Single Wall tent

1:00 a.m. on June 27, 2015 (EDT)
4 reviewer rep
24 forum posts

So you all have helped me greatly with my pack selection.  Now it's time to look at tents.  I'm looking for a 2 person, even though it will mostly be used for 1.  I wan the option for 2.

I want to go light weight and under $400.

Looks like most are single wall designs wiht only 2 that I saw that were double wall.  Tarp tent double moment and the Big Agnes Seedhouse.

Also to note I'm in the hot and very humid southeast.  I want condensation to be kept minimum as possible.  I also don't want to spend a bunch of money on a single wall to not be happy with it.

What are the pros and cons with single vs double wall? 

8:31 a.m. on June 27, 2015 (EDT)
TOP 10 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
3,454 reviewer rep
1,335 forum posts

I am no expert, but have and do own both single and double wall tents in the humid SE. I have always had a slightly bigger condensation issue with single wall in this area. It can be minimised with orientation of the tent for best venting from prevailing winds and site selection to avoid camping in heavy condensation areas (I usually dry camp on ridges for views and avoid streamside camps when in a full single wall).

I looked at Tarptent and the Seedhouse on my last purchase and ended up with a Lightheart Gear Solong 6. It is a semi single wall that meets your specs if you use 2 trecking poles and don't mind some condensation. It only has one central strip of wall that gets condensation, which can easily be fixed with a quick wipe. My wife and I can fit snugly into it with the right sleeping pads, even though it is a solo. Check out my review if it is of interest.