Importance of backpack's size

4:07 p.m. on December 15, 2015 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
3 forum posts

Hi, Nabil here, I am planning to buy a 65 L backpack to use as a multiday pack online because where I live, there is aboslutely no store that offers backpacking gears and such. So I had no other choice. I am a newbie here and seeking advice about the size of the backpack. It comes in S, M, L according to the torso length if Im not mistaken. Is sizing very important? What happens if I get a size bigger or smaller? 

Thank you for any response.

4:55 p.m. on December 15, 2015 (EST)
REVIEW CORPS
2,695 reviewer rep
1,494 forum posts

Hey Nabil! Welcome to Trailspace.

Yes, sizing a pack for multi-day trips is as important as sizing shoes. Too big and the pack will likely slip down your hips, putting too much weight on your shoulders and back. Too small and the hip-belt won't be effective, definitely putting too much weight on your shoulders and back.

6:11 p.m. on December 15, 2015 (EST)
TOP 10 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
8,839 reviewer rep
1,490 forum posts

Yup, it all comes down to comfort and function, both of which will be reduced with a bad fit. Torso length is pretty easy to measure and most manufacturers have sizing info available to help you figure out which of their sizes or models will work for you.

It is tough to buy a backpack you haven't tried on. Try to buy from a retailer with a good return policy so you're covered in case it doesn't work out. Don't settle for a bad fit as it will only make you unhappy on trail.

11:28 a.m. on December 16, 2015 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
3 forum posts

I see. Thank you so much for the advice given. Here sincerely trying to learn as much as I can :)

4:38 p.m. on December 16, 2015 (EST)
REVIEW CORPS
2,695 reviewer rep
1,494 forum posts

That's why we're all here, so you're in good company!

12:31 a.m. on December 17, 2015 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
684 forum posts

Greetings Nabil,