Newbie trying to decide?

7:33 p.m. on December 27, 2018 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
1 forum posts

I am looking for a jacket that will repel water and snow, wind, I will be in the 15degree to 35 degree weather. Mainly in the Lake Tahoe Ca area but will be in Northern Idaho occasionally light hiking snowboarding. I don't really want to spend a lot of money I do know about base layering underneath

The two I have been looking at are 

Glacier Ridge Pro Series Winter Jacket                

Wandto Mountain Ski Jacket

7:56 p.m. on December 27, 2018 (EST)
82 reviewer rep
395 forum posts

Actually you do want to spend a lot of money,or at least whatever it takes to get a suitable garment.  The best garment will not necessarily be expensive, but it won't be bargain basement, either.  A good jacket is ery fundamental gear, vital for adverse conditions.

Withstanding snow and wind is easily done, but adding really significant rain is a bit more difficult.

I have no knowledge of either of the ones you propose; just don't go cheap and buy junk that will not work.

10:33 p.m. on December 27, 2018 (EST)
TOP 25 REVIEWER
1,166 reviewer rep
384 forum posts

For the money I think it’s hard to beat a military ECWCS parka, specifically Gen 1. They’re incredibly durable, have large handwarmer & Napoleon pockets, a powder skirt, 2-way zipper with snapped storm flap, and pit zips. Heavy? Yep, but compared to other hardshells it’s like armor plate. 

2:30 p.m. on December 28, 2018 (EST)
125 reviewer rep
3,221 forum posts

I would not buy either for your use.  Both are water repellent - suitable for around town or on the slopes, but if you spend a day far from your car and it rains, it eventually will soak through.  You want something that is waterproof, not simply water resistant.  Water proof garments usually use a rubber-like coating (e.g. urethane) or a membrane (e.g. Goretex to block water).