Open main menu

What gadget do you need for beginner camper?

I am a beginner at the camping and i was wondering what exactly do you need for a start form gadgets? Feel free to give me any advice.

Zoe, it completely depends on where you are camping.  On a tropical island, maybe very little gear.  In the high mountains you need a warm sleeping bag, a tent, and food....maybe a way to cook that food, depending on what you want to eat.

And if you're hiking, some good shoes to hike in.

Keep it simple. 

You do not need a lot of equipment and gadgets. 

the only 'gadgets' that come to mind are headlamps (many brands are fine) and the Leatherman skeletool, a stripped-down multi-tool that has become my favorite. I like having a multi-tool for field repairs: pliers and wire-cutter in addition to having a knife, screwdriver, bottle-opener.  

Is a compass a "gadget"? Water filter? Fire starter? A stove? 

Google "Ten Essentials," you'll get a list of the key things everyone heading into the wilderness should have on them.

Like said its actually a combination of all the things people have proposed. For instance what kind of camping are you doing Remote and dispersed campsites or a camp site with amendities Like water and a compost toilet...If its remote camping youll need shelter and stove a water filter and water container and a container to hold food and a bed roll wether a sleepng bag or quilt...Maybe a first  aid kit. Its could be a small leathermen like Andrew said...

Zoe, help us help you!

What do you want to do?  Hike, fish, climb, car camp?  What part of the nation and what kind of terrain?  hills, forests, above tree line, deserts?  Are you looking for maximal creature comforts or minimal pack weight?  The activities, venue location, and level of comfort desired will dictate the equipment needed.