Open main menu

Just for yucks

While surfing, I cross upon this dilly, a 3 person, 3 3/4 pound, 4 season tent!  I have no personal experience with this item, or even  touched one, but there is no way this tent meets the criteria it claims.  The video supported my suspicions, the fabric looks like the stuff  UL dry stuff sacks are made from.  A close look at the video clues in the wary that things are not as they seem: the tent pole pocket are unreinforced, and the double stitch line of the lap fell seams are not parallel.  I am sure there is more to be concerned, but I had my curiosity slaked on the first view.  They tout the tent standing up to 90 mph winds - and 150 mph, with some kind of optional accessory.  They also are promoting a VB "sweat" shirt.  PT Barnum would love these folks.  Newbies best avoid this item it is too good to be true.

Ed

I'm not so sure, Ed.  The tent pole pockets are reinforced with webbing.  That's pretty strong.  The poles are pre-bent and thicker than most UL tent poles--and they have plastic caps on the ends to reduce wear on the tent..  And they do make it clear that for bad weather, you need to place an additional four stakes---for a total of seven--plus the "rock sacks" that help keep everything in place.  

And I have to admit that the woman who does the demonstration is not just a pretty face--she's put tents like that up a thousand times, and you can tell by the way she acts in the video. She knows this tent inside and out. She does mention that it is crucial to get the tent set up quite tight in difficult weather. 

Will I pay $1000 for a for season tent like this?  Nope.  I bought a used four season tent for about $150 that weighs 7 pounds. But this one weighs half that amount...and for some people, that matters.  I'm never camping in the winter for more than a day or two, so don't worry so much about weight in winter.  I did pay almost $400 for a UL three-season tent...