High Peak 4 season tents

1:05 p.m. on March 6, 2008 (EST)
3 reviewer rep
4 forum posts

Hello,

I'm a broke student who likes winter trekking. I've been looking for a low budget 4 season tent for 2-3 people.

Recently, I discovered an American company called "High Peak". They seem to offer decent quality gear in really low prices, but I couldn't find any reviews about their gear anywhere, and I wouldn't spend money on, or go trekking in -20 degrees with a tent I can't count on.

So, my questions are:

1. Does anyone here own, or know someone who owns any High Peak 4-season tent ("Enduro" or "South col")?

2. If so, will these tents function well under heavy rain\heavy snow\extreme cold ?

3. Do you think the low prices of these tents are due to a smaller profit margin, or just bad quality?

Thanks,
Shrimp.

1:17 p.m. on March 6, 2008 (EST)
7 reviewer rep
18 forum posts

I don't know if you've been there already, but here's a link to their website: They kind of mention about 'competitive' pricing.

http://www.highpeakusa.org/

1:43 p.m. on March 6, 2008 (EST)
3 reviewer rep
4 forum posts

I've seen the website, but advertisements made by the company itself are not, what I would call, a "reliable source".

Quote:

)

10:18 a.m. on March 9, 2008 (EDT)
2 reviewer rep
13 forum posts

I have a "High Peak - Hyper Lite. I described it on this website on "Gear Selection - Deciding the Right Tent."

As I said there I got mine new, and very cheap on e-bay. If you do a careful search into bargain camping equipment sites - you might find one.

My Hyper Lite is certainly worth the money I paid for it. I consider it more of a three season tent, but in a pinch, especially if your not going to the South Pole, you could get away with it in winter. I have seen, so called four season tents costing lots more money that are no better. Mine has all those features.