Sierra trip - need gear suggestions

7:53 a.m. on May 11, 2001 (EDT)
(Guest)

Hi all, I am a newbie backpacker/mountaineer going to the Sierra (Whitney and Yosemite) Mem. day weekend and I am wondering what gear items I might forget, but that you can advise me to bring. (For instance - sunscreen.) Does anyone have a 'gear checklist' they would like to share?
I am also looking for a good insulated mug to take up the mountain to keep my drink hot - any suggestions?

11:41 a.m. on May 11, 2001 (EDT)
(Guest)

a.k.a. G.L., Greased Lightning, Irv

It all depends what you intend doing? Are you going to hike several miles each day - then pack weight becomes a critical variable. Do you plan to hike to the crags and do some climbing? Then total weight and pack volume become critical variables. Do you plan to hike/camp by yourself? My very strong suggestion would be to either hook up with an experienced backpacker/camper/hiker for this "maiden" voyage -- or if you don't want to go that route - I suggest that you pick up a copy of the NOLS guide to camping/backpacking as well as the Sierra Club's publication on the same subjects (sorry, but I've forgotten the exact titles). The critical thing to understand is to carry only what you need - you'll be a lot more comfortable in the long run. Hope this helps - have fun - G.L.

2:22 p.m. on May 11, 2001 (EDT)
28 reviewer rep
1,261 forum posts
Hammock. Don't leave home without it! n/m

6:39 p.m. on May 11, 2001 (EDT)
(Guest)

I am going with a guide and 3 other people up the Mountaineer's Route.

7:15 p.m. on May 11, 2001 (EDT)
(Guest)