Location suggestions for Upstate / Western New York

11:11 p.m. on June 17, 2014 (EDT)
227 reviewer rep
20 forum posts

Hey everybody,

Looking for new places within saw 1- 5 or 6 hours drive from the Buffalo NY area. I am New to the trailspace community and loving it. Past couple years have been advancing in my backpacking skills. I have car camped my whole life. I practice wilderness survival and just love being outside. I live in western new york and would love to hear suggestions on places to day hike, weekend backpack and even long haul with a pack. I will leave out where I have already been as to not deter any suggestions. So here's what I would like to see.

• Suggested location
  • Best suited for? ex: weekend trip, overnight etc.
  • Little known features; such as a great swimming hole, or an amazing restaurant nearby.
  • Best season
  • Any other tidbit you would like to add

I look forward to reading any suggestions. Then I will toss in some of my gems if any of you are in my neck of the woods. Literally. :)

2:10 p.m. on June 18, 2014 (EDT)
TOP 10 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
5,597 reviewer rep
617 forum posts

Hi Justin,

First of all, welcome to Trailspace. I've only been here for a couple months now, but the insight I've received on gear from gear reviews, the trail tips I've learned from reading the forums and the places I've come to know because of people's trip reports have all been excellent. Welcome and I hope you stay for awhile.

I grew up in NWPA and then lived in Buffalo for a time after college - West Side, only a short walk to the lake. The sunsets are incredible there. 

Anyways, everyone I knew in WNY always talked about Letchworth State Park. I got to know some mountain biker at the bike shops in Buffalo and Letchworth was all they ever talked about. Hiking friends were the same way. I'm sure if you live in Buffalo you can find people who know a lot more about Letchworth than I do.