Climbing the Barr Trail up Pikes Peak

4:51 p.m. on August 8, 2015 (EDT)
TOP 10 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
12,294 reviewer rep
1,413 forum posts

In preparation for my Mt. Rainier trip in September, I'm taking a quick trip out to Colorado to climbing Pikes Peak next week. I'm planning to arrive Thursday evening and spend Friday with the family at Garden of the Gods to help acclimate to the higher elevations.

Friday evening I plan to have the wife drop me off at the trailhead for Barr. Then I'm going to hike 2-4 hours, spend the night in the national forest around 10,000', and complete the hike by late morning on Saturday. My family will meet me at the top for the drive down.

I know it's bear country, and I will need to hang my food bag.

I also know to be aware of lightening storms (that's why I'm not attempting the full climb in just one day. I don't want to get caught above tree line in a storm & since I'm a rookie to high elevations, I thought the above plan was wiser.)

I won't do a campfire, but plan to cook on my alcohol stove. I did not see any prohibitions on either, but I'm not a big fan of the former outside of car camping.

Do I need to be concerned about mountain lions if I'm hiking solo at dusk and dawn? Last time I was in Colorado Springs, I saw a posted sign near Garden of the Gods warning people not to walk alone at night because of mountain lions.

10:15 p.m. on August 8, 2015 (EDT)
73 reviewer rep
4,071 forum posts

Goose,

People are getting very jumpy now when it comes to predators. There is too much information about them all the time. I have spent lots of time in Colorado and Wyoming. When you get to higher elevations, there is little habitat to support bears or mountain lions.