Getting Paria Canyon permits

7:09 p.m. on March 28, 2018 (EDT)
TOP 10 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
4,541 reviewer rep
1,072 forum posts

I though it might be worthwhile to share my experience in getting a permit for a multiday hike in Paria Canyon. My wife and I are going with a buddy of mine in May. To get right to the point, getting a permit for any one month is a race, not a lottery.

I studied up on the permit process on the BLM website. It was clear that the calendar for the month of May would open up at 12:30 PM on February 1st, but it wasn't at all clear to me which of the two options above was right. So a few days ahead of time I called the BLM office and asked point blank if it was a race or lottery. I was told it was a lottery. Then, since you give credit card info and agree to pay in advance, I asked if it was treated as an application fee or a permit fee, i.e. if I don't get the permit do I still have to pay some or all of the fees? The guy on the phone couldn't answer that, bounced me to someone else who didn't pick for 5-10 minutes, so I gave up.

If it was a lottery as I was told, I planned to apply for four different start dates to increase my chances of getting a permit. I would assume that they would take all the applications for a given start date, randomize them somehow, then take the top one off the pile, award as many permits as requested, and repeat until all 20 slots for the day were filled. That's my understanding of how the do it in Yosemite. In which case I would  only have to get my applications in early in February and I would get the result some time later depending on how long it takes them to sort the applications and award permits.