The Eclipse of the Sun

9:25 p.m. on September 2, 2017 (EDT)
REVIEW CORPS
4,534 reviewer rep
6,036 forum posts

Our latest family outing was to view and enjoy the TOTAL ECLIPSE OF THE SUN On August 21, 2017. Our expedition Crew consisted of a group of Scientists, all in one family -

Barbara (spouse – computer scientist), William (son – atmospheric scientist with responsibility for several meteorologic satellites), and I (nominally retired astrophysicist) began planning months ahead of time to view and photograph the Solar Eclipse of 2017. This would make Barbara’s 4th total eclipse, William’s 3rd, and according to my parents, my 5th total eclipse (I was told that my 1st one took place while I was about 5 years old – can’t remember anything about it). Of mine, aside from the one when I was a youngster, the first I remember was from Cap Chat, along the St Lawrence in Quebec. I had gathered a number of my grad students (I was a university professor of astronomy at the time), and we drove from Boston to Cap Chat. Unfortunately, just at the maximum of totality, a storm front swept over us, allowing only a slight glance through the clouds.

My next Total solar eclipse was viewed in clear skies from Cabo San Lucas at the southern tip of Baja California. The view was great, though the hill we had chosen was swarming with Japanese tourists (3 buses full) who had come to Baja, just for the eclipse. Son William had been excused from school to go with Barbara and me for the great spectacle, and a spectacle it was. We drove there down the length of Baja California.

My 4th eclipse was viewed from Easter Island. This time Barbara and I joined a commercial eclipse hunters group, based in the Los Angeles area. Again, this was spectacular, with the addition of a big banquet and native dancers. Easter Island is located about as far from any land on Earth as is possible, way out in the Pacific Ocean. An airplane was required to get there.