Summer Escape

2:03 p.m. on June 19, 2018 (EDT)
TOP 25 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
4,421 reviewer rep
139 forum posts

After an especially trying end of a school year (I'm a teacher), I knew I needed some solo time in the wilderness for renewal. The NC mountains called to me, but the highlands in the west of the state were recovering from terrible flash floods, the sort that threaten dams and entire mountain valley communities, so I opted instead for the wilderness in my own backyard, the Birkhead Mountains Wilderness.

There is something restorative about being in familiar natural surroundings, and this is what Birkhead offers me. Because of its familiarity, too, it is an ideal gear testing location as I am able to concentrate on the gear's qualities. This time, however, I decided to do something a bit different. This would be my kitchen sink trip: I wanted to take a lot, a far cry from my usual less-is-more approach to exploration!

Behind this decision was my desire to revisit an old acquaintance, my 1980’s era BSA Yucca Ranger external frame pack. To my pleasant surprise, I found that it had a rudimentary means of adjustment, something I’d never needed as a scout, but which I found useful now to accommodate my adult body. It had lived in a trash bag in my parents’ attic for about 30 years, so I made some basic upgrades--new cordage to secure the top flat, some minor sewing repairs to reinforce suspect seams, and the addition of a homemade belt--the original did not have one.

I decided, too, that this old school trip would mean old school gear: my stainless steel cook kit, my brass Trangia stove, a stainless steel twig stove, my UCO candle lantern, and more. This was a more is better trip, so I threw in a stool, a saw, an axe, my GSI aluminum camp table and loads of other things. With steak on the menu for the first night, this was meant to be an indulgent trip!

Screen-Shot-2018-06-19-at-11-55-00-AM.pn