jboothmtnbkr

REVIEW CORPS

1,053 reviewer rep
31 forum posts
joined Aug 17, 2005

I am a: 58-year-old male backpacker
Location: Colorado
Occupation: Telecommunication Sales

Affiliations: I have no relationship with any outdoor company, brand or retail establishment.

Activities

Hiking
Backpacking
Snowshoeing
Mountain biking
Fishing
Road cycling
hunting

Vitals

Height6'3"
Weight210
Torso Length19.5
Boot/Shoe Size11.5
Jacket/Shirt SizeL
Pant Size36" x 34"

I grew up in the Piedmont area of GA in a small farming town of about 3000 people.  My dad was a forester/hunter/fisherman and I formed my love for being in the outdoors from him.  We'd spend many hours per year in the woods and I ended up going to college to obtain a forestry degree too.  I decided not to pursue that as my career but my love for the woods never waned.  As a teenager, my friends and I would go on multi-day canoe/camping trips during college breaks or go out to one of my friends land on the Ogeechee River and camp for the weekend so we could hunt or fish.

I moved to CO in the mid-90's and quickly adapted to the Colorado lifestyle.  I had taken a bit of a hiatus from the extended outdoors while living in DC and St Louis but once we were in Colorado, the urge rekindled.  For the last 20 years we've camped all around CO and have made some longer excursions to Utah, Idaho, Montana, Wyoming, etc.  At some point I plan to go camp in New Mexico since it is one of my final three states to visit.

Primary gear that I use:

  • Mountainsmith Circuit 3.0
  • REI Andora 10 degree down bag
  • Kelty Recluse 2.5i sleeping pad
  • Thermarest pillow
  • Kelty Gunnison 1.1 solo tent w/footprint
  • Marmot Starlight 1P
  • UST B.A.S.E. tarp
  • assortment of Sea to Summit, OR and Granite Gear stuff sacks (some with compression straps, some waterproof)
  • Black Diamond hiking poles
  • Primus EtaPackLite kit (1.5L pot)
  • Primus Express Stove with 2.1L Primus pot
  • Gerber Big Rock fixed blade knife
  • Mora Light My Fire fixed blade knife
  • GSI nesting bowl and mug kit
  • Stoic Ti long handled spoon
  • Steripen Classic water purifier
  • Uco Candle Lantern (2 of these)
  • Eddie Bauer hand crank/sun chargeable personal sized LED lantern
  • Nite Ize BugLit (small insect looking LED light for attaching to anything)
  • Silva compass
  • Garmin etrex Vista C handheld GPS

Gear Reviews (65)

user rating: 5 of 5 Nalgene Oasis Canteen 3/15/2015
user rating: 2.5 of 5 Yaktrax XTR Extreme 3/15/2015
user rating: 5 of 5 Trailspace Innate Motus Top Reviewer Water Bottle 2/16/2015
user rating: 4 of 5 Tubbs Men's Wilderness Series 2/12/2015
user rating: 5 of 5 Gear Aid SilFix Sil-Nylon Repair Kit 12/19/2014
user rating: 5 of 5 Morakniv Companion Rescue 8/16/2014
user rating: 3 of 5 LokSak aLokSak 8/16/2014
user rating: 4 of 5 LokSak OPSAK 8/16/2014
user rating: 4 of 5 Cocoon Air-Core Ultralight 5/29/2014
user rating: 5 of 5 Primus Windscreen 5/29/2014
user rating: 5 of 5 Smartwool Training Beanie 5/20/2014
user rating: 3 of 5 Quixote Goose Down Pillow 5/19/2014
user rating: 4.5 of 5 Marmot Men's Vapor Trail Hoody 5/19/2014
user rating: 5 of 5 Black Diamond Men's Trail Shock 5/19/2014
user rating: 4 of 5 Marmot Kompressor Summit 5/18/2014
user rating: 4.5 of 5 Outdoor Research Ultralight Compression Sack 3/23/2014
user rating: 4.5 of 5 REI Duck's Back Rain Cover 3/23/2014
user rating: 5 of 5 Trailspace Trail Runner Cap 2/02/2014
user rating: 4.5 of 5 SteriPEN Classic UV Water Purifier 1/27/2014
user rating: 4 of 5 Keen Men's Olympus Medium Crew 1/19/2014
user rating: 5 of 5 humangear capCAP 1/16/2014
user rating: 5 of 5 Sea to Summit Ultra-Sil Compression Sack 1/15/2014
user rating: 4 of 5 REI Men's Sahara Convertible Pants 1/14/2014
user rating: 5 of 5 Outdoor Research Ultralight Dry Sacks 1/14/2014
user rating: 5 of 5 Eddie Bauer Inflatable Seat Cushion 1/13/2014
user rating: 5 of 5 GSI Outdoors Ultralight Nesting Bowl and Mug 1/13/2014
user rating: 5 of 5 Stoic Ti Long Spoon 1/13/2014
user rating: 4.5 of 5 REI Men's Sahara Tech Shirt 1/13/2014
user rating: 3.5 of 5 Vapur Shades 1/12/2014
user rating: 5 of 5 UCO Original Candle Lantern 1/12/2014
user rating: 3.5 of 5 Patagonia Men's Activist 1/12/2014
user rating: 3.5 of 5 Patagonia Men's EVERlong 1/12/2014
user rating: 5 of 5 Coghlan's Backpackers Trowel 12/12/2013
user rating: 4.5 of 5 Eddie Bauer Men's First Ascent Cloud Layer Fleece 1/4-Zip 11/16/2013
user rating: 4 of 5 REI Mojave +15 11/14/2013
user rating: 4 of 5 Columbia Glennaker Lake Rain Jacket 11/14/2013
user rating: 3.5 of 5 Eureka! Tempest 2 11/10/2013
user rating: 3.5 of 5 Eureka! Mountain Pass 11/09/2013
user rating: 5 of 5 Kelty Noah's Tarp 12 11/09/2013
user rating: 4 of 5 GSI Outdoors Halulite Tea Kettle 11/09/2013
user rating: 5 of 5 Garmin Forerunner 301 11/03/2013
user rating: 5 of 5 Primus EtaPower Pot 2.1L 11/03/2013
user rating: 5 of 5 CamelBak Cloud Walker 11/03/2013
user rating: 4 of 5 OllyDog OllyBottle 11/03/2013
user rating: 4.5 of 5 Columbia River K.I.S.S. ASSist Knife 11/03/2013
user rating: 5 of 5 Ultimate Survival Technologies Base All Weather Tarp 11/03/2013
user rating: 4 of 5 Therm-a-Rest Compressible Pillow 11/03/2013
user rating: 3.5 of 5 Princeton Tec Byte 11/03/2013
user rating: 4 of 5 Kelty Women's Cosmic 20 11/03/2013
user rating: 5 of 5 Light My Fire Swedish FireKnife 11/03/2013
user rating: 3.5 of 5 Gerber Freeman Guide 11/03/2013
user rating: 5 of 5 Gerber Big Rock Camp Knife 11/03/2013
user rating: 4 of 5 The North Face Rock 32 11/03/2013
user rating: 4.5 of 5 REI Women's Flash 65 11/03/2013
user rating: 5 of 5 Primus Express Stove (Piezo) 11/03/2013
user rating: 5 of 5 REI AirRail 1.5 Self-Inflating Pad 11/03/2013
user rating: 4 of 5 The North Face Men's Terra 45 11/03/2013
user rating: 4.5 of 5 Mountainsmith Circuit 3.0 11/03/2013
user rating: 5 of 5 Keen Pemberton Boot 11/03/2013
user rating: 5 of 5 Kelty Recluse 2.5i 10/11/2013
user rating: 4 of 5 Eddie Bauer Men's WeatherEdge Rainfoil Jacket 4/08/2013
user rating: 4.5 of 5 Kelty Gunnison 1.1 4/08/2013
user rating: 4.5 of 5 Primus EtaPackLite 4/08/2013
user rating: 4 of 5 Petzl MYO 5 10/09/2005
user rating: 5 of 5 REI Hobitat 4 8/18/2005

Forum Posts

Meet Jeff: Texas Climber, Adventure Traveler, Engineer April 10, 2015
Meet JR: UL Backpacker and Reviewer of the Month March 11, 2015
Meet Kali: Backpacker, Teacher, Reviewer of the Month February 11, 2015
Sub7 Hammock, Soft Gore Jacket, Ski/Climb Pack, More January 23, 2015
G00SE Wins $500 CampSaver Gift Card! (Seriously) June 2, 2014
Welcome, Ashleigh and G00SE, Our Newest Moderators May 19, 2014
Win $500 Gift Card to CampSaver by Reviewing Your Gear May 1, 2014
Reviewer Bill Garlinghouse Wins Old Town Kayak Package April 30, 2014
No Joke: Win a Kayaking Package from Johnson Outdoors April 1, 2014
Reviewer Ben Rivers Wins Osprey Aether Backpack March 31, 2014
Happy 13th Birthday, Trailspace! March 14, 2014
Meet G00SE, Trailspace's Reviewer of the Month February 11, 2014
Reviewer Herdingcats Wins Light and Motion GoBe+ Light February 3, 2014
Reviewer JD Tanner Wins $300 Innate Gear Prize December 30, 2013
Winter bicycle gloves October 9, 2013
cleaning a hydration hose? October 12, 2013
Rand McNally Foris 850 GPS Receiver Winner December 2, 2013
John Wins Patagonia EVERLong and Activist Shoes November 7, 2013