Vladimir Gorbunov

TOP 25 REVIEWER
Reviewer of the Month: July 2017

1,531 reviewer rep
16 forum posts
joined Sep 8, 2016

Full Name: Vladimir Gorbunov
32-year-old male bicycle tourist
Saint-Petersburg, Russian Federation
Occupation: Technical writer
Email: private

Affiliations: None

Gear Reviews (32)

user rating: 4.5 of 5 Hilleberg Kaitum 3 Footprint 9/27/2018
user rating: 3 of 5 Ortlieb Dry Bag PS10 7/08/2018
user rating: 5 of 5 Hilleberg Guy Line Runners 7/08/2018
user rating: 5 of 5 Zpacks Z-Line Dyneema Cord 1.2 mm 7/08/2018
user rating: 4.5 of 5 Vargo Stainless Steel Para-Bottle 6/04/2018
user rating: 4.5 of 5 Suaoki SunPower 14W Solar Charger 5/15/2018
user rating: 4 of 5 Xiaomi Power Bank 20000 mAh 4/11/2018
user rating: 4.5 of 5 Gore Bike Wear Countdown GT Jacket 4/03/2018
user rating: 4.5 of 5 Jack Wolfskin Stormlock Shapka 3/30/2018
user rating: 4.5 of 5 Arc'teryx Rho LTW Neck Gaiter 3/30/2018

Forum Posts (16)

Re: Member Feedback: What makes you trust a review? September 13, 2018
Re: What age to start kids into winter backpacking? April 18, 2018
Re: Congratulations, Top Reviewers of 2017 April 12, 2018
Re: Congratulations, Top Reviewers of 2017 March 22, 2018
Re: What age to start kids into winter backpacking? January 24, 2018

About

pDH_86t9fR0.jpg

I've been a bicycle tourist since 2006. Me and my wife (she always stands by my side in all outdoor adventures since 2009) prefer backcountry travelling, especially on gravel and dirt roads, and camping in wilderness. Winter trips are fine too, even with temperatures well below the freezing.

Luckily our home region (around St. Petersburg, Russia) offers all opportunities for such trips. There are many nice unpaved roads, beautiful lakes and rivers, where camping is allowed almost everywhere.

fXYiy_MnxxI.jpg

Apart from short 2- to 4-day trips I've made several full-scale backcountry bicycle tours:

  • Solovetsky islands '07.
  • Mid-Russia '08.
  • Crimea '10, '11 and '13.
  • Sakhalin island '10.
  • Iceland '11, '12 and '14.
  • Armenia '13.

Bicycle tours with our child (born 04.2015) in trailer:

  • Finland '16
  • Finland '17

Bicycle tours with our child in bicycle seat:

  • Archipelago Sea and Aland Islands '17
  • Belarus '18
  • Finland, Sweden and Aland Islands '18

z_6754a8fb.jpg

When there are no conditions for cycling we always try to go outdoors in another way, such as hiking or sometimes skiing or canoeing.

Activities

Hiking
Backpacking
Mountain biking
Bicycle touring

Vitals

Height184 cm
Weight68 kg